Lake Honoree

Who will it be this year?

Nominations must be submitted by June 20th to be considered for this year’s award.

2022 Lake Honoree

The following is the presentation given at the LTPO Annual Meeting:

The Distinguished Lake Citizen of the Year was revealed recently at the LTPO Annual Meeting on July 16th at the Tippecanoe Lake Country Cub.

To be eligible, the candidate must be nominated by any member of the Lake Tippecanoe Property Owners Association; they must reside full or part-time on the Lake for at least the last 5 years, be a member of LTPO, and have made a positive impact on the Quality of Life on Lake Tippecanoe.

Each year the Recipient is awarded a $500 grant from LTPO to be directed to their favorite 501 C3 Non-profit Charity!

The selection Committee is made up of past recipients, Ron Chambers, Mark Ennes, Jon Tyler, and Jeff Thornburgh.

This Year’s Honoree was nominated unanimously by the Selection Committee and our LTPO President, Dan Free. This year’s Recipient has been coming to the Lake since she was 6 years old. The family loved to be by the water, so as a youngster and teenager spending summers on Lake Tippecanoe was a dream come true! Hanging out at Patona Bay, learning to swim and water ski, making new friends and enjoying the freedom every teenager craves!

As a clue, back in those days, wooden Cypress Garden skis were all the “rage” and this year’s recipient even had her own favorite “Alfredo Mendoza” slalom ski!

Can you guess who this is?
This year’s recipient is a leader and a survivor!
She is the steadfast, always present, volunteer who is constantly looking to make a contribution to LTPO!
She is a regular volunteer at The Watershed Foundation!

This year’s recipient has worn a lot of hats! She had a successful business career for many years at Da-Lite Screen, was an elected official serving the Town of Leesburg, and held a number of officer positions in her Landing Association, and most importantly raised her family on Lake Tippecanoe!

Becky Hartman receiving Lake Honoree Award from Ron Chambers.

This year’s recipient is being honored as she exemplifies what it means to volunteer and make a “positive influence on the Quality of Life at Lake Tippecanoe”. She stepped into the position of Treasurer, serving LTPO for the last 14 years. She has been a “constant” on our Board supporting our objectives year after year! Presidents and Vice-Presidents have come and gone, but this year’s recipient never misses a meeting and makes sure the Organization’s business is completed. She has a knack for keeping the meetings on track and saying what needs to be said at just the right time.

We would like to honor Becky Hartman as our Distinguished Lake Citizen of the Year for 2022.

Jeff and Pam Thornburgh,
Committee Chairs

Past Honorees

1994 Millie Paton

1995 Tom T. Hamilton

1996 Dr. Betty Jo Koss

1997 Holly LaSalle

1998 Robert Smith

1999 Jeff Thornburgh

2000 Maxine Harreld

2002 Gary Calhoun

2003 Emily Greenland

2004 Joe Westendorf

2005 Bob & Linda Schwartz Family

2006 Mike Lattimer

2007 Dave Tyler

2008 Mark Ennes

2009 Jack Doll

2010 Richard & Marsha Smith

2011 Dungan/Tynan Families

2012 Ron Chambers

2013 Dick Young

2014 Richard Armstrong & Ball Brothers Foundation

2015 Dave Swart

2016 Gene Dominique

2017 Steve Matthias

2018 Terri Tynan

2019 Glenna Shelby & Jon Tyler

2020 Dan & Angie Drook

2021 Terry Frank

2022 Becky Hartman


Eligible candidates are individuals who reside full or part time on Tippecanoe, James or Oswego Lakes for at least five (5) years and are members of the Lake Tippecanoe Property Owners Association.

We are looking to honor that individual or family who has made a positive impact on the quality of life at the lake. Think about that person in your neighborhood or landing that seems to be the “living” example of an individual who cares for the environment, our properties and the well-being of fellow residents; maybe it’s the landing director that always takes the time to represent his/her neighbors at the meetings and is actively involved with the Association. So give some thought to the residents of your landing. The Committee will certainly welcome all recommendations.

Committee Members: Jeff Thornburgh, Mark Ennes and Jon Tyler

Sponsors must submit their nomination on the form provided. Please mail your nomination to:

PO Box 224
Leesburg, IN 46538

or send electronically to

Applications will not be returned and will be kept on file for one year after submitted.

Any person(s) who reside full or part time on Tippecanoe, James or Oswego Lakes; has been a lake resident for no less than five(5) years; has made a positive impact on the quality of life on Tippecanoe, James or Oswego Lakes; must be a member of Lake Tippecanoe Property Owners Association.